Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 10, 2024, 05:43:58 am

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 773455
  • Total Topics: 66366
  • Online Today: 315
  • Online Ever: 5484
  • (June 18, 2021, 11:15:29 pm)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 264
Total: 265

Author Topic: Educate me please 😊  (Read 6092 times)

Offline UK101Smith

• Standard
Educate me please 😊
« on: April 14, 2016, 04:21:39 pm »
Good evening to all.

A little bit of a strange one, and I apologise if I have posted this in the complete wrong forum.

I am a secondary school teacher in the UK and part of my pastoral role is ensuring our pupils are physically and emotionally supported and educated.

I am due to deliver a talk to 120 pupils in their final year about sexuality and understanding physical relationships.

As a gay man, I am hugely passionate about HIV education and STD prevention. Even though I consider myself to be moderately knowledgable about HIV and the transmission risks, there is something that confuses me and I can't for the life of me find any accurate information on it... Here's where you guys come in. I was wondering whether you could clarify something for me.

I'm aware that unprotected receptive oral sex carries a significantly low risk of HIV transmutation with only a handful of "supposed" documented cases throughout the epidemic. However I am also aware of the fact that having an STI as the receiver or giver of oral sex, increases transmission.

Could you please explain how this works? How do different STIs increase the risk. Gonnorea and Syphilis for example? If an active STI is present in either partner does ejaculating in the mouth increase risk and avoiding ejaculation decrease risk even with an active STI?

I am delivering a talk on Monday and I really don't want to be providing my kids with half hearted, weak information regarding this.

Kind Regards AJ.
The greatest gift it the world is knowledge.

Offline Jim Allen