HIV Prevention and Testing > How Can I Prevent HIV?

Truvada missed doses and possible exposure

(1/2) > >>

Lex:
I have scoured the internet for Truvada or HIV hotlines available 24hours or on weekends and it seems itís been a bust so Iím hoping you guys can help me.  I apologize if this isnít the right forum.

I am fairly new to anal sex and have found condoms to hurt me as a receptive partner even with lots of lube. Maybe from a lack of experience. I am not very sexually active but I decided to go to an infectious disease doctor to get put on truvada and Iíve been on it since February. Iíve been taking it daily up until very recently. Iíve had an issue with my pharmacy that caused a delay in getting my prescription so for about a week, Iíve been taking the pill every other day to try to extend my current bottle. I took a pill Wednesday night at bedtime and skipped Thursday night. Friday I got my 30 day refill so I am back on a daily schedule. Friday night, I had a sexual encounter with someone I have known briefly. We talked beforehand and he believed he was STD free. Since I donít know him well, I asked him to wear a condom anyways but it was extremely painful. In the heat of the moment and knowing I'm on Truvada, I allowed him to go bareback. He ejaculated inside me. When he left, I went to take my bedtime medications, including Truvada, and it struck me how this was the first pill Iíve taken in 48 hours. This got me to thinking and I would like to ask advice:

1. I know Truvada is highly effective even at just 4 days a week but how long does it stay in your system? After 48 hours, was my system basically Truvada free and I had no protection?