Meds, Mind, Body & Benefits > Questions About Treatment & Side Effects

A thread for Fuzeon users--our emerging treatment options

(1/4) > >>

RAB:
Hello Everyone:

There's another thread right now from a member new to Fuzeon and struggling with the infamous ISRs.  Some of the comments in that thread hit home with me, but I didn't want to hi-jack it, so I'm starting this thread.

I've been using Fuzeon since December of 2003.  I've used the needles that come with the kit, the Biojector, and the small gauge insulin needles that many of us are opting for.

Other than the ISRs, I've had virtually no negative side effects from Fuzeon.  The mixing isn't as difficult as some think, the injecting is actually pretty easy.  The overall impact on my daily routine is pretty minimal. (Hell  Jan has injected me at Niagara Falls!) Oh but for those ISRs this would be a perfect drug as far as I'm concerned.

I've long ago abandoned some of the injection sites recommended to us simply because the ISRs were unbearable.  Specifically the thighs.  (Lord God almighty--can anyone really inject there?)  I frequently use other parts of my body instead.  Specifically the chest (which still seems to produce the least severe ISRs) and my bum bum.

The drug has worked beautifully for me.  Not only did I attain full viral suppression, but I have maintained it now for over 3 years.  I've also heard from my doctor (with nothing I can direct anyone to to validate) that not only is there clear evidence that Fuzeon (when combined with other optimally effective drugs) does work as an effective treatment option for those of us facing resistance issues,  but there seems to be some evidence it also helps with CD4 recovery.  In other words, people using Fuzeon see higher counts.