HIV Transmission and Testing > Am I Infected?

Clinical ARS Question; Opinions Appreciated

(1/1)

unnerved:
Hello,

Thank you for reading. Understanding that the only way to know if one is HIV+ or not is by testing for it, and having scheduled a test for five days from now, I'm seeking information that I can have in between now and when the results come back.

I've read a lot about HIV. In fact, I worked in the HIV field for four years, which is exactly why I'm concerned about symptoms, now.

I'm a homosexual male with a history of unprotected anal insertive sex with a guy I was seeing for about four months. His last HIV test (12 months prior) was negative. My last HIV test (negative) was a month prior to engaging in sex with him. The sex I engaged in with him was my only risk factor.

Approximately two weeks after my last sexual encounter with him, I presented with symptoms of a viral/bacterial infection: non-exudative sore throat, swollen lymph glands in neck, frequent productive cough, clogged sinus passages, and most notably (and frightening), a slight rash across on my chest and abdomen.

I never presented with a fever during the course of the symptoms, which lasted approximately 7 days. However, the rash has not subsided with the rest of the symptoms. The swollen lymph glands do not worry me much, as for years they've mildly swollen off and on pretty regularly.

I realilze that my symptoms are almost all more suggestive of a common cold moreso than ARS. But its the rash that bothers me. My primary care physician saw it and prescribed Elidel for ezcema, although he stated that he was not sure whether or not it was ezcema. I did not bring up my concern over possible exposure with him.

While no one's ARS rash can be entirely alike, the pictures I've pulled off Google of said rashes are conflicting. Some look somewhat like what I have. Others look entirely different.