Main Forums > I Just Tested Poz

I have a question

(1/4) > >>

satsgurl84:
So I found out I was positive 2 months ago, I just went to my first visit with my doctor to see where my levels of everything was. But they put me on a IV for some reason and said my blood pressure was little high. Since I have found out about my HIV positive status I been drinking everyday to help me numb the feelings of everything. I swore to myself all the time this would not happen to me. I was always told about these things. I mostly really upset with myself because there no one to blame but myself. I guess I am going to just try to deal with all this one day at time, but the fact of me ever finding a life long partner is very low to none. I feel if I ever get close to any guys I might have interest in I could lose them just as quick as I found them.

cicero:
Hi satsgurl84.  I am new to this too, under a month.  I am having some of the same feelings as you -- I, too, said I'd never let this happen and I worry about the future, particularly finding love, etc.  But you've got to realize that we are not alone in this; it happens to the best of us.  One day at a time is the right approach.  Please remember you are the same person and take care of yourself.  There are lots of people here to talk to on this forum and I honestly believe that it will get better.  We just have a "new normal" to get accustomed to.  It's hard to find the right words to say and when people who aren't in the same boat have tried to comfort me it feels empty because they don't know how this feels, they can only imagine.  So I don't mean to patronize.  We can't help our feelings but it's what we do with them that will count in the long run.

satsgurl84:
Hey Cicero