Off Topic Forums > Forums Gatherings

Sorry - Personal Qualm

(1/4) > >>

Fisher:
Need a little info.

I am planning to, looking forward to Chicago.  My first encounter. I have concerns about “fitting in,” however.

Here in backwoods Maine, there are no HIV support groups.  And I don’t even know another individual infected with HIV. And while it is likely I’ve been infected from the very early days, half the time I did not know, only to be figured out after 12 years in monogamy and partner being negative.  And the other half of the 28 years, in studies at MGH and NIH.

Just last fall the virus mutated inside me to escape control necessitating therapy. Baby Jesus, and gift to the world egomania, severely and permanently thwarted. . .

I’m really excited, really excited, anticipating to meet others. But I am a bit anxious about fitting in.  I have no personal experience of the struggles and losses that many have had to survive in heart, perhaps not too much in common with others.

But since I found out, I’ve always been doing everything in my power to end this nightmare for all of us. Politically in silence, but always in research.   

Is this a meeting of 20 or 30 individuals, or hundreds?

Is there room for someone like me in Chicago?

I have a kind heart. Even doing things like for the last 30 years making sure every needy family in my county got Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners and toys for the kids . . . even though many I have helped would have strung me up because of my sexual orientation. . .

Although I have “always been here” with this infection, because of a recent change in my status, it is only now, that I am reaching out to others of my kin.  In the past, I’ve done my work and efforts in a different way, research.  No gay community here, just cows.