Meds, Mind, Body & Benefits > Nutrition & HIV

Trying to lose weight

(1/3) > >>

Hzandi:
Hey guys,

I hope you'll be able to help me out here. I have been on Atripla for a month now and really doing well besides the minor rash that is clearing now.

I have been eating very healthy and jogging/walking for about 45minutes at least 5 times a week.

I'll be 30 years old by June and would like to have lost 10k's by that time.   Do you think I will be able to make it?

Do you think its difficult to lose weight when you are on HIV meds or it makes no difference?

texaninnyc87:
I'm a fitness instructor, and also positive, so maybe i can help you out a little here!

In terms of medications, I dont think any pills have a direct effect on your ability to lose weight but may have side effects that could affect weight loss goals. some pills tend to curb your appetite while others might suppress the HIV symptom of reduced appetite and allow you to eat more that you had been able to previously. Every medicine is different, and everyone's body is different so it is kind of impossible to say how you will react to Atripla, but generally speaking (from my somewhat limited knowledge of HIV meds) there shouldn't really be any reason why your meds should stop you from achieving your fitness goals.