Main Forums > I Just Tested Poz

Any other poz health care professionals?

(1/5) > >>

Callaway:
I was diagnosed poz June 2011 (a shock indeed) and this is my first time reaching out to others since then.  My partner and I attended one session of a local support group and I was not comfortable and we have remained isolated since.  Iím a Canadian Registered Nurse (male) and having more of a tough time dealing with the stigma than the actual disease due to my profession and feeling the need to remain silent (of course my governing body knows, a requirement of the profession to report).  Anyone else out there experiencing the same thing or have any advice on coping?

Jmarksto:
Hey Callaway;

First, sorry you need to be here but welcome.

While I am not a health care professional, I defiantly struggle with the stigma for professional reasons.  I was diagnosed in June 2012 and have only disclosed to my partner.  I am looking forward to disclosure at a minimum to my family at some point, but I am not ready at all yet.

Anyway - the forums have been great for support, technical information, and being able to hear from others that have been able to manage this disease.  I have also found that a counselor that specializes in HIV has been very helpful.

Again, welcome.

JM

Callaway: