Meds, Mind, Body & Benefits > Insurance, Benefits Programs & HIV

SSDI

(1/2) > >>

Peter6836:
Can anyone give me some insight in applying for and collecting SSDI. I have lost my job and am looking into options. I am also looking into possibly getting a disability retirement. I was a teacher. Just some advice would help. I am not sure what to do and looking at all my options. Geting the retirement would at least allow me to keep my benifits. I live in Michigan.
Peter

allopathicholistic:
Best to apply as soon as possible when you consider the waiting periods and the Medicare-uncovered periods.

Here in New York City, the City acts as the safety net for the SSDI waiting period (typically 2 years but it varies) and the State acts as the safety net for the Medicare-uncovered period (always 2 years).

My case as an example:
SSDI granted March 1, 2006
Medicare granted March 1, 2008

And for perspective ...........
  Applied: Late 2005
  Informed via official notice: December 2007

I hope the above is clear.

Hugs,
AH

denb45:

--- Quote from: Peter6836 on July 24, 2008, 10:06:47 AM ---Can anyone give me some insight in applying for and collecting SSDI. I have lost my job and am looking into options. I am also looking into possibly getting a disability retirement. I was a teacher. Just some advice would help. I am not sure what to do and looking at all my options. Geting the retirement would at least allow me to keep my benifits. I live in Michigan.
Peter

--- End quote ---