Main Forums > Living With HIV

Need Advice on Switching from Kaletra to Invirase

(1/4) > >>

Lou-ah-vull:
Last week, I had my annual lipids profile done by my regular internist and it came back with greatly elevated triglycerides (from 168 to 480) and total cholesterol (from 150 to 224).  My HDL has always been low, but had moved up slightly from 33 to 37 and my LDL was up slightly from 86 to 91.  I had been controlling triglycerides (which run in my family) for the past two years with TriCor.  My doctor wrote me a script for Zocor, not understanding that it cannot be taken with the Kaletra I already take.  In addition, I have gained about six pounds since mid-May almost all in my midesection, despite no real dietary changes and maintaining a fairly active exercise program.

I had these results sent to my ID doctor and today he called me.  He is fairly certain my lipids have been raised due to my HIV meds which I started in mid-May.  He says the most likely culprit is the Kaletra, although the Combivir cannot be ruled out.  He says he doesn't like to deal with a side effect (raised lipids) with drugs, but rather we should look at replacing my PI with one less likely to raise lipids.  He is recommending unboosted Invirase (apparently the boosted version likely creates the same lipid problem as the Kaletra.)  He has had patients experience success in controlling their viral load with unboosted Invirase.  He also mentioned Reyataz, but says there is such a higher risk of jaundice that he would rather me try the Invirase.