Meds, Mind, Body & Benefits > Insurance, Benefits Programs & HIV

Using SSDI for Automobile?

(1/3) > >>

marsss7080:
Hi there,  :)
OK, I am new to this blogging and to this forum and this website. I know this is sound really crazy and maybe I am for even asking.
Coming up on my first anniversary of being HIV+ in March and having been approved for SSDI in October '07 it sounds silly but can an individual get approved or use his/her SSDI for monthly payments for an auto loan.
I am blessed that my monthy SSDI check is enough to cover my bills and potential monthly car loan note, but not sure how the banks, loan companies (i.e. lending tree etc.), or car dealerships handle this type of situation. For all I know they just might say STAY AWAY!       
I realize that credit score and other factors contribute to the decision but I don;t work and do need another car as mine I see is beginning to fail after 10 years. It's not like I am even looking for a new car a good reliable fairly newer model would do. 
Has anyone heard of any lending companies or situations where this has occured?[/font]

thunter34:
First anniversay of HIV + and already approved for SSDI?

I wasn't aware that that sort of thing ever actually moved that quickly...not to mention one could even get it without other factors in addition to HIV.  Or that SSDI can ever be enough to cover monthly bills AND a car note.  Wow.

ademas:
Car dealerships don't care where your income is from, as long as you can verify.  Most don't even verify your income as long as your credit is good (although it wouldn't surprise me if this has tightened up given the current state of the lending business...)

I'm sure a lot of retired and disabled people buy cars with their Social Security as their primary source of income.

pozniceguy: