Main Forums > Pre-HAART Long-Term Survivors

Life expectancy after AIDS

(1/5) > >>

mamaangie:
Hi all. This is my first time posting. I was diagnosed HIV+ on Aug. 27, '07 and found out it was AIDS on Aug 30, '07. My CD4 count was 6 and viral load of over 500,000. Started meds on Sept. 13, '07. Had to go to the hospital on Sept. 24, and I was there for 7 days. I am scared to be optimistic about living a long time. Actually, I am just scared. I have read many, many stories on long life with HIV, but not about anyone whose CD4 got down to below 200. Any of you long timers got a story for me? I would really appreciate it. Thanks. Angie in WV

leatherman:
Welcome! You've come to a good place and there'll be plenty of people after me to tell you a ton of things you should know; but let me first tell you something to ease some of your current fears.

Almost 10 yrs ago (it will be in Mar), I was in the hospital with a VL of 490,000, only 2 t-cells, and PCP pneumonia (this was my second time in a two yr period being this sick and in the hospital). Although that was a rough time, and the meds back then weren't as good as the ones today, I struggled through and things got better. Now, nearly a decade later, my tcells are about 250 and my viral load has hovered near "undetectable" for nearly 3 years. And I'm actually healthier than I've ever been in the last 15 yrs.!

At first, I used to think I wouldn't live to be 35. Then I wasn't certain if I'd make it to 40. I felt pretty good about turning 45. And now I'm actually thinking I could make it to 65!  ;D

The only piece of advice I would give you is to always stay compliant to taking your meds. I learned the hard way and that's how I ended up in the hospital that second time.  ;)

Glad you found these forums, and I'm sure you'll find all the answers you need.

mikie

Miss Philicia: