Main Forums > Pre-HAART Long-Term Survivors

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall . . .

(1/9) > >>

newbernswiss:
After 17 years of looking at the HIV+ face and body in the mirror, I see a person whom I'm just beginning to recognize. Before HIV I had nice round cheeks, a flat stomach, muscular arms and legs, bright blue eyes and great clear skin. Today the person who stares back at me in the mirror is much different than the person who use to be on the other side. He has sunken cheeks, a large belly, stick legs and arms with little muscle tone, dull blue eyes and skin with a new rash every other day.  I'm a survivor. I get up every morning shove a hand full of pills down, pray for no nausea or diarrhea, head off to work. There I have people ask why my belly is so large, my face thin and when I'm seen in shorts, your legs are so skinny in comparison  to the rest of your body. Yes to them I must look like some kind of freak.  I wear larger clothes to help hide the bumps and bulges. But when I see the person in the mirror I see a hero, a survivor, a person who can fight just about anything. 

AlanBama:
I can relate to what you are saying all too well...

I hate mirrors these days.   Even worse, are photos.   The photos some have posted of AMG make me shudder (the ones of me, I mean).   I look like a skeleton with a big belly, and my face looks like wax melting off the bones....

But, like you, I am a SURVIVOR.   I am trying (but not always succeeding) to love me, just as I am.   I also am going to try to take better care of myself, even if I can't afford a gym membership.   It is important to stay active.  I have lots to see and do yet --  my niece's wedding someday.....maybe she will have children that I'll get to see.....who knows, maybe even some more AMG's.

love,
Alan

jack: