Main Forums > I Just Tested Poz

Any words of advice to a newbie?

(1/6) > >>

shadowfluid:
So how did you guys get through the first year?

Anyway, I'm a mess of course. Sooo...
Xanax for my anxiety. Thank god it was invented.
St. John's Wort for my depression....even though it's given me slight sunburnt skin which is odd since I'm olive and NEVER burn. It hasn't kicked in yet. My co-infected friend said the depression will "only get worse." I start cognitive-behavioral therapy this week. I'm being pro-active about everything and trying to learn as much as I can. However, reading everything all over the internet and in here has caused a HUGE increase in my anxiety. My metabolism is already high and I'm majoring in dance at my university so I'm already eating A LOT. It's just sooo odd to me. I eat and one hour later I'm shaking from low blood sugar. Then the following week I have NO appetite and don't want to even do laundry or cook.  It goes in waves I guess...both the anxiety and depression.  Ok tangent.

Would anti-depressants be something to try even though the depression is a mixture of the "summer blues" and all the shit that has gone down? If so, has anyone has awful awful side effects from them? Has St. John's Wort worked for anyone? How long will it be before I become addicted to my Xanax? Anyway my brain has run rampant with a gazillion questions. Feel free to answer any of them. Yes I know I should ask my doctor these questions...but he has a gazillion patients and I always feel like we never have time to discuss them over...so any help would be great! :)

Ann:
Hi Shadow,

You need to be careful with St John's wort - it can interact with other medications and cause problems. I'm not sure if it interacts with Xanax, but from everything I've read about the stuff, it's more trouble than it's worth. (SJW I mean)