Main Forums > Living With HIV

How we gonna pay?

(1/3) > >>

B99:
Firstly, thank all of you for your kind words on my first post.  I am feeling way better at this point in time and it is largely due to your kind words and encouragement.
Now, to the business at hand.  I am in the initial process of planning a move the NYC from Minnesota in summer 2007.  Before my diagnosis I was scared because my career is in the arts/journalism and I knew that it was going to be a huge event moving there and  struggle for the next X years while I got myself established.
Then the bombshell that I have HIV and may need to start treatment in the next year or so.
Before the news, I was planning on drifting a little bit.  It was not a priority for me, say, to have a job or make sure my insurance was taken care of.  When I graduated from school I had no insurance for 2 1/2 years, which was one of the reasons why I didn't get tested when I exhibited symptoms of what I now know was acute HIV infection.  Now with the extra burden of the disease, being able to get adequate medical care has become my main issue.
From my research, HIV medications are EXPENSIVE.  So I just wanted to get a sense about what other people have done to deal with the cost (both those with insurance and those with out)?  Do most people's insurance cover the cost of the drugs?  And for those without insurance, how have you been able to afford them?  AND if there is any living/or has lived in New York City with this disease, how is it?

Cliff:
http://www.health.state.ny.us/health_care/

This website talks about the various state funded insurance options for the state of NYC.  If you move to NYC and you don't have health insurance, you will need to apply for the state's ADAP program in order to obtain HIV treatment (and access to meds, paid for by the government). 

I don't know how much you make, but you may qualify for Medicaid (but your income needs to be pretty low if you're working and single).