Meds, Mind, Body & Benefits > Questions About Treatment & Side Effects

How Do You Feel If You Miss a Dose

(1/4) > >>

oksikoko:
Hey, all. So, I almost never miss doses, but I slept through all of Sunday and missed both my Stribild and aripiprazole. When I woke up this morning, I felt unsteady and everything looked like a movie in slow motion, like I could sometimes see two frames at once. I took both of them right away. It's been a few hours, but I still feel completely unsteady plus I keep crying for no reason. I also feel like I could throw up at any time. It's more embarrassing than anything, though I wouldn't want to operate heavy machinery right now.

Does anything like this happen to you if you miss a dose? I'm assuming it's mostly the aripiprazole, but I've skipped that on its own before and felt nothing like this. I've never missed both.

Thanks,
Lee

GoForIt:
I am new to all of this so I am not sure I am 100% correct.  But from what I've read you could potentially miss 1 out of every 20 or 30 times and it wouldn't hurt drastically.  I believe the half life in these new medications is long and while you should never miss a dose if you can...missing one dose has a very low chance of being problematic.  But as we all already know, taking your meds on time each day is key to seeing the best results.  I have just recently started meds but have not missed any.  Try setting a phone alarm or maybe a clock alarm next to your bed.

Jeff G:
I would bet its the missed dose of aripiprazole. If I miss doses of my antidepressant I have noticed almost identical side effects , especially since I'm now taking double what I once did .   

oksikoko:
Thanks, GoForIt. I'm not concerned about resistance, though. Just curious if anyone else felt such drastic consequences of skipping. 'Drastic', ha. Dizziness and crying aren't all that serious.